2021 Conference Agenda

Friday 23 April via Zoom

This year we will be fundraising for the Dentists' Health Support Trust. Please use the Just Giving link here to donate.

Time Description
09.00-09.30 Login to Conference via Link
09.30-09.40 Welcome and Chair’s Opening Remarks
SLDC Conference Standing Orders (SLDC2021/02)
09.40-10.05 David McColl, Chair of SDPC

Presentation on the work of SDPC 2019-2021

Supporting documents

10.05-10.25 Question and Answer Session
10.25-10.50 Helen Kaney, Lead Dento-legal Consultant and Head of Dental Services, Dental Protection

Promotion of Dental Protection’s services
Presentation: Professional Indemnity

10.50-11.00 Question and Answer Session
11.00-11:20 Break
11.20-11.35 Derek Manson, Northern Ireland Representative on SDPC

Presentation: How Northern Ireland set up an Opt-Out System for LDC Mandate Holders

11.35-12.00 Questions and Answer Session
12.00-12.10 Elizabeth Glass, Conference Treasurer

Conference Accounts and Treasurer’s Report SLDC Bank Account (SLDC2021/03)

Signed audited accounts to 31st August 2020

Dentists' Health Support Trust

Statement from Mike Stern, DHST, 23 April

12.10-12.20 Scottish Dental Fund
Roy McBurnie, Chair and Jim Law, Treasurer

12.20-12.30 Questions and Answer Session

Voting on recommendations 1-4 of the financial report

12.30-12.55 Lunch break
12.55-13.10 Remembering our much-missed colleague, Graham McKirdy

Virtual Presentation of a Lifetime Achievement Award to Andy Yuill, Fife LDC

Virtual Presentation of a Lifetime Achievement Award to Bill Hutton

13.10-13.20 Elections and Results
Chair Elect to Conference (Lindsay Milton remits role) [Christina Ferry has been nominated]
Treasurer (Currently Elizabeth Glass) [continuing]
Auditors to Conference (two posts) (Currently Kieran Fallon MBE and Robert Sweeney) [continuing]
Representatives to Conference Agenda Committee (Currently Christina Ferry and Elaine Winter) [Elaine Winter is continuing, Stewart Robertson has been nominated]
Representatives to the UK LDC Conference (up to five posts) (Currently Elaine Winter) [Elaine Winter and Helen Dennison have been nominated]
Representative to the Scottish Dental Practice Committee (Currently Clare Murphy) [Hazel Hannigan, Gillian Lennox and Clare Murphy have been nominated view their statements here]
Representatives to the Board of Management of the Scottish Dental Fund: Posts held for three years, appointed in 2020 and with two years to serve (two posts) (Currently T Coia and J Law) [continuing]
Representatives to the Board of Management of the Scottish Dental Fund: Posts held for three years (two posts) (Currently R McBurnie and D Harper, the latter was elected for 12 months in 2020 by the Conference Agenda Committee to replace G McKirdy) [continuing]
13.20-14.20 Motions 2021 (SLDC 2021/07) Download the List of Conference Motions 2021
14.20-14.35 Break
14.35-15.35 Motions 2021 Continued (SLDC2021/07)
15.35-15.45 Any other competent business
15.45-15.50 Chair’s closing remarks
15.50-15.55 Induction of Lindsay Milton as Chair
15.55-16.00 Incoming Chair’s closing remarks